Agar is a gelling agent used all over the world in various different cuisines. It is especially popular among the fine dining community to make molecular ingredients, especially vegan ones.
As we have mentioned, agar is extracted from seaweed. The seaweed is actually first boiled until it forms a gelatinous substance. This gel is then pressed into thin sheets to be dried.
When using a powdered form, the general rule of thumb is to use 1 teaspoon for every cup (8.45 fl oz / 250ml) of liquid you need to thicken. This ratio will also vary depending on how thick you want the liquid to be.
An agar gel has a thick consistency somewhere between a runny sauce and sets jelly. For this consistency, we use 1 teaspoon (5 grams) of agar powder and 2 cups (500 ml) of liquid. This liquid can be anything you’d like.
Although nutrient agar is a gelling agent, it’s not recommended to be used for all substitutes. Nutrient agar contains beef broth, which makes it unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans.
Gelatin is a great substitute for agar and has similar properties. Gelatin doesn’t have to be boiled since it has a lower melting point, but that also means that it won’t withstand high heat. Gelatin is also not suitable for vegetarians or vegans since it is made from animal products.
Unlike gelatin, Carrageenan is not made from animal products, so it’s suitable for vegetarian and vegan dishes. Carrageenan is derived from an Irish moss, which is a type of red seaweed.
Agar is one of the most versatile gelling agents in the kitchen and you can have a ton of fun playing around with it.Find out more tips and tricks in the link below.
How To Make Agar With Powder? – The Best In-depth Guide